I love sunsets. But I guess I’ll love sunrise all the more this time…

You will be enriched in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion, and through us your generosity will result in THANKSGIVING TO GOD (2 Corinthians 9:11).

Just when I decided I won’t involve myself with this kind of activity again, here I am today, celebrating my 1st anniversary in child sponsorship under World Vision Philippines.

It was in March 2015 when I joined an event as one of the volunteers to spend time and play games with a particular orphanage. Being fond of kids, I really enjoyed their company during the whole activity… until it had to end. I remember the two kids there suddenly hugging me tightly, wiping their tears, and telling me they will miss me. It was both heart-whelming and heart-breaking at the same time. Teary as I was, I had to hold my emotions.

After finding out that the orphange has a child sponsorship program, without further ado, I gave my commitment. By June 2015, I started my first monthly pledge for the education of one of the children they recommended. I was so excited I bought her school supplies, gave the bag I bought for myself during my Bicol escapade, and visited the orphanage to personally meet her. However, three months after, I terminated the sponsorship and decided not to commit again to them.

It was by end of August 2015 when I followed up on how my sponsored child was doing, how was her school performance as I was planning to reward her for her schooling… only to be informed that the child escaped from home. What broke my heart even more that time was the fact that it was not the first time the child ever did such action. Being an unbeliever that time, I was so disheartened I felt betrayed like, “Why did you people not inform me that she has the tendency to leave? Why did you still recommended her to be sponsored?”

It was only lately, reflecting from things I’ve done in the past, that I realize that perhaps the reason why they chose the girl to be my sponsored child was because they wanted to give her another chance – a new beginning. Just like what God has been repeatedly giving me over the past years – having an on-and-off relationship with Him whenever I feel like until I came to a point in my life thinking that it’s all on me now.

Two years after the volunteer event, God brought me to His Church giving “us” a shot once more. And I tell you, I’m loving my life now more than ever. For the past 6 months of living this new life that He has entrusted me with, He proved me that it is Him who is indeed generous. He gave me the opportunity to experience what it’s really like to live – to enjoy my life exploring the things I long deprived myself of; He gave me the opportunity to meet strangers that contribute in my well-being, people who treat me like a family and help in bringing me closer to Him; He gave me the opporunities to put my passion into action – to be involved in hikes for a cause, outreach programs, immersion, in-kind and monetary donations, fund-raising activities, child sponsorships, and the best of all… sharing myself to others. Exactly just like what is written in Psalm 37:26, “He is ever lending generously, and His children become a blessing.”

A privilege, but I consider it more as a responsibility. My only prayer is that in everything I do, it is the name of the Lord I will proclaim that in my heart and mind, He is the only One to be glorified. And that I may live always with His command in my mind: Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for thereby some have entertained angels unawares (Hebrews 13:2).

… knowing that for every ending comes a new beginning.

Leave a Reply

